U.S. Men's National Team

2011 Gold Cup venues and dates announced


The 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup Final will take place at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena on June 25th, CONCACAF announced on Thursday.

The full schedule for venues and dates of matches has been released by FIFA and while the matches are well spread out throughout the country, the West Coast has just two matches (including the final) while the Pacific Northwest received no matches.

The opening match will take place on June 5th at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas while both semifinal matches will be played at Reliant Stadium in Houston on June 22nd.

The New York/New Jersey area will feature a pair of matches, with Red Bull Arena playing host to a group match on June 13th and New Meadowlands Stadium hosting two quarterfinal matches on June 18th.

Here is the full schedule for the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup:

2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup Schedule and Venues

First Round
June 5 – Cowboys Stadium (Arlington, TX)
June 6 – The Home Depot Center (Carson, CA)
June 7 – Ford Field (Detroit, MI)
June 9 – Bank of America Stadium (Charlotte, NC)
June 10 – FIU Stadium (Miami, FL)
June 11 – Raymond James Stadium (Tampa, FL)
June 12 – Soldier Field (Chicago, IL)
June 13 – Red Bull Arena (Harrison, NJ)
June 14 – KC Soccer Stadium (Kansas City, KS)
June 18 – New Meadowlands Stadium (East Rutherford, NJ)
June 19 – Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium (Washington DC)

June 22 – Reliant Stadium (Houston, TX)
June 25 – Rose Bowl (Pasadena, CA)


What do you think of the venues? Disappointed the final isn't on the East Coast again? Wish there were more West Coast dates?

Share your thoughts below.

  • KungFuSoccer

    Ok, so many of these are on weekdays. Are the games in the evening so that those of us who work can attend?


  • PNW

    The reason the attendance was so poor in Seattle was because it was on the 4th of July (Families are on Vaca) and it was the USMNT’s C team vs Grenada. Woohoo!


  • drew

    Why do they continue to have games at RFK when there are better alternatives in the mid-Atlantic? Ravens stadium in Baltimore is much nicer and access to the stadium is so much easier. I think the roads around RFK have been under construction for the last two decades.


  • RLW2020

    i find it hard to believe that Mexico couldn’t pull it off with an existing stock of quality stadiums and strong soccer culture.. but I am more than fine with having it hosted in the USA for as many times as possible.


  • Erik

    Nice to see US Soccer will still not come to Atlanta.

    With FIFA how it is and US Soccer how it is ignoring the South – (Carolina… not Atlanta?) it’s hard to keep paying attention.


  • RLW2020

    i agree.. i wish that we could use the summer b4 the world cup for something better than the watered down gold cup.. maybe a series of friendlies. plus it always seems to be straining on the players who are either in the middle of the MLS/Scandi seasons or missing out on preseason training with their Euro cups.

    At that point of the cycle I would rather see a few friendlies with the three North American nations going to the world cup vs. other world cup nations and the rest focusing on their next run.


  • RLW2020

    ya id like to know what influence Detroit over NE, Denver or Seattle… i can’t think of a reason yet..


  • RLW2020

    id pick Carolina over Atlanta any day.. think about how many good players come out of NC and all the good NCAA programs are there.. and less competition with other summer sports.


  • mike K

    funny to see cities that have gotten SO MANY games over the years or that are getting great high profile friendlies soon whine and complain so much.

    anyways GO HOUSTON!


  • Eurosnob

    With all the problems with RFK, one could hardly criticize its location and accessibility. It’s right next to a metro stop and a couple of highways. RFK gets a nod over the Ravens’ stadium in Baltimore because of its soccer history, location in the nation’s capital, and an MLS team that plays there. If they wanted to host the game in a large football stadium in DC/Baltimore area, they would have picked FedEx over the Ravens’ stadium in Baltimore.


  • Build United a stadium

    FedEx sucks for soccer…and I think Baltimore will always be overlooked for these tournaments because they will always want a game in the nation’s capital. If they gave games to DC and Baltimore with stadiums only about 35 minutes apart then the people getting left out would really be crying!

    I agree RFK is a dump but I’d rather watch a game there versus FedEx


  • chupacabra

    Explain then why the Mexican national team has chosen to play a large number of recent friendly matches in the US and not in Mexico. The issue is money – they can charge four times as much for tickets in the US and still sell it out.


  • Nova99

    Also as we always put in our bid for any international sport, the US is the world’s home away from home, you can probably find a few dozen supporters from all teams competing, dont think that will be the case in Canada or Mexico. This of course contributes to the whole money factor, the driving force of modern day soccer 🙂


Add your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More from SBI Soccer