College Soccer

Hermann Trophy finalists announced

Will Bruin

The 2010 Hermann Trophy finalists were announced on Friday and two of three finalists for the men's award could be lifting an NCAA title this weekend.

Akron junior Darlington Nagbe and Louisville junior Colin Rolfe were both named as finalists, along with Indiana junior striker Will Bruin. The award, given each year to the best male and female players in college soccer, will be presented on Jan. 7th in St. Louis.

Melissa Henderson of newly-crowned national champion Notre Dame, Alex Morgan of California (and the U.S. national team), and Christen Press of Stanford were named finalists for the women's award.

Bruin finished as Big Ten Player of the Year, scoring 18 goals and five assists. Rolfe has been a key factor in Louisville's undefeated season, scoring nine goals and adding seven assists. Nagbe as served as one of the key figures in Akron's loaded lineup, contributing seven goals to go with 13 assists.

Both Nagbe and Bruin are Generation adidas targets for Major League Soccer and could take part in the 2011 MLS Draft. Nagbe and Rolfe will be playing tonight in the NCAA Final Four.

What do you think of these selections? Who would you vote for out of these trios? What player is missing from the list of finalists that you think deserved to be there?

Share your thoughts below

  • Charles

    I looked before is Rolfe related to Rolfe ( Chris ) ?

    (SBI-The consensus seems to be that they are not related.)


  • Steve C

    Will Bruin sounds like he should’ve been destined to go to UCLA?

    Maybe the Bruins have a defender named Bill Hoosier on their team?


  • Oranje

    Sarkodie should be on there but Nagbe should win. He truly is the best player in college soccer, bar none.


  • otergod

    Let’s go Bruin!!!

    Bruin had over half of IU’s total goals. Scoring isn’t be all end all obviously, but he was certainly an important player for IU. Akron is clearly a loaded team, but that shouldnt sway decisions. All three made big splashes with their teams, all three should be considered


  • Charles

    In a game last year Bruin got tangled up with a defender and both fell down at the edge of the box. They wrestled around for a second and then Bruin punched him in the face. The ref…gave them a brief talking-to. It was pretty awesome.


  • Hoosier

    Glad to see that the NCAA gives Bruin some attention, because the Ives writers have given him very little press this year. Lets go Will!!


Add your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More from SBI Soccer