U.S. Open Cup set-up finalized

U.S. Open Cup set-up finalized

U.S. Open Cup

U.S. Open Cup set-up finalized

The road to the 2011 U.S. Open Cup has been set.

The USSF released its structure and schedule for this year's tournament on Thursday. Out of the 40 teams that get by the first phases of qualifying, 11 will be from new sanctioned third division USL-PRO, nine from USL Premier Development League, eight from MLS, eight from the U.S. Adult Soccer Association and four from National Premier Soccer League.

As was announced earlier in the week, teams from the provisionally sanctioned Division 2 NASL are not eligible for this year's tournament.

As a result of the MLS league standings from last season, the Los Angeles Galaxy, Real Salt Lake, New York Red Bulls, Columbus Crew, FC Dallas and two-time defending champion Seattle Sounders automatically qualify for the third round of the tournament. The remaining 10 U.S.-based MLS teams will have to endure qualification for the league's final two spots in the third round, when only 16 teams will remain. The final is slated for Oct. 4.

How do you feel about the tournament set-up? Disappointed the NASL teams aren't included? Wish MLS teams didn't have to qualify for spots in the field? Do you see Seattle pulling off a three-peat?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI