College Soccer

NSCAA releases Hermann watch list


Photo by Omar Martinez/ISIphotos.com

The college soccer season is around the corner and the NSCAA has released its Hermann Trophy watch list to provide a guide of players to keep an eye on during the upcoming campaign.

The list managed to leave off Louisville striker Colin Rolfe — a Hermann Trophy finalist last season — and Notre Dame and United States Under-20 midfielder Dillon Powers — a consensus top prospect and Generation adidas candidate — while including current New York Red Bulls (and therefore no longer in college) defender Sacir Hot.

A couple of top candidates to win the Hermann Trophy who actually made the list include UCLA and U.S. U-20 midfielder Kelyn Rowe (pictured above) and Duke's versatile defender Andrew Wenger.

Considering the omission of Rolfe and Powers and inclusion of Hot, the official watch list should be taken with a grain of salt, but it's still a metric to use in order to identify some of the top collegiate players in the country.

Here is the NSCAA's 2011 Hermann Trophy watch list:


R.J. Allen, D, Monmouth

Carlos Alvarez, M, Connecticut

Gideon Asante, M, Old Dominion

James Belshaw, GK, Duke

Austin Berry, D, Louisville

Thomas Brandt, D, Penn

Andrew Bulls, M, UMBC

Brendan Burgdorf, F, Bucknell

Michael Bustamante, M, Boston University

Cody Calafiore, M, Temple

Tony Cascio, F, Connecticut

Juan Castillo, F, SMU

Marcello Castro, D, Sacred Heart

Justin Chavez, D, Tulsa

Warren Creavalle, M, Central Florida

Roger Downes, D, Loyola Marymount

Ethan Finlay, F, Creighton

Shaun Foster, D, Hofstra

Raymon Gaddis, D, West Virginia

Sam Garza, F, UCSB

Bryan Gaul, F, Bradley

Max Hamilton, M, Monmouth

Antoine Hoppenot, F, Princeton

Sacir Hot, D, Boston College (signed by New York Red Bulls on January 31; ineligible)

Arthur Ivo, M, SMU

Matt Lampson, GK, Ohio State

Enzo Martinez, M, North Carolina

Ryan Meara, GK, Fordham

Karo Okiomah, F, High Point

Tyler Polak, D, Creighton

Josey Portillo, M, Florida Gulf Coast

Tim Richardson, M, Fordham

Charles Rodriguez, D, Charlotte

Kelyn Rowe, M, UCLA

Kevin Strunk, D, Lehigh

Chris Thomas, F, Elon

Casey Townsend, F, Maryland

Anthony Vasquez, D, Monmouth

Patrick Wallen, F, San Diego

Andrew Wenger, D, Duke

Chris Wheeler, F, Mount St. Mary's

Gyasi Zardes, F, Cal St. Bakersfield


Which players are you expecting to stand out this season? Who do you see winning the Hermann Trophy? Anybody else not on the list that you think will turn some heads this season?

Share your thoughts below.

  • RK

    Considering the omission of anyone from UVa, the official watch list should be taken with a grain of salt.


  • Dainja

    Siiiiigh. One day…as an AU Tiger fan hoping…players from SEC schools will be on this list (where you at, Chris LSU Tiger?? Damn you Title IX). And sorry for the sour grapes, but its hard to see a picture of Rowe and not relive him butchering his open chances in the beginning of the Guatemala U-20 qualifying disaster game.


  • northzax

    Title IX doesn’t seem to stop any of these schools from fielding men’s soccer teams. Just sayin’


  • RK

    It’s quite poor down south. I can’t believe South Carolina doesn’t play in the SEC, and that Georgia Tech and Georgia don’t even have teams.


  • Ralph

    Nobody from Virginia, Akron, and only a single Louisville player?

    A grain of salt? I think ignoring it entirely would be acceptable.


  • Brian S.

    Try playing in Mississippi. It sucked playing high school soccer knowing that the only place in state to play would be junior college or an NAIA school. There is a lot of wasted talent down here because kids have nowhere to go after high school unless they are one of the lucky few to get noticed by out of state schools


  • Mike in Missouri

    With as many names as are on it, it would have been quicker to say who’s not on the watch list.


  • strider

    Maybe not, but is has stopped quite a number of other schools from having men’s programs. My own Alma Mater the University of Illinois is a fine example of a school with a women’s varsity program, but not a men’s program (this is true of swimming too). Why? Title IX and the need to balance opportunities for men and women in sports (basically to make up for the numbers in football). In theory this is fine, but the reality is a much higher percentage of men want to be involved in a sport than of women. But, in order to create a “level playing field” there have to be an equal number of opportunities.


  • RK

    Funny to hear all of this when so many people whine that college soccer is ruining our USMNT future.


  • Rory McLean

    Can you imagine if the Heisman Trophy people shortlisted a player who was in the NFL and left off a finalist from the year before. This thing is a joke and another sign that college soccer is ran by idiots.


  • Rory McLean

    That’s nothing, in the late 1990’s Indiana University had to cut a Men’s sport to meet the Title IX requirement when they lost a women’s sport due to lack of interest. They cut Men’s diving, which might not be missed by many but was odd since Indiana’s Men’s Diving team were the defending national champions.


  • Jeff

    Title IX is the main reason Western Kentucky University ended its men’s soccer team program a couple years ago.


  • Ne-Dub

    33 out of the 42 players east of the Mississippi……..

    There has always been this east coast bias in college soccer and it just isn’t justified.


  • Brian S.

    I’m one of the few that thinks college soccer is a good thing. Not all players are cut out for professional soccer, much less right out of high school, but still want to play at a high level. Many of our national teamers played college ball and they don’t seem too hurt by it


  • abc

    “while including current New York Red Bulls (and therefore no longer in college) defender Sacir Hot.”

    What a joke, how can college soccer be taken seriously when it doesn’t even take itself seriously?
    Akron should defect to MLS (joke).


  • abc

    “Nobody from Virginia, Akron, and only a single Louisville player?”

    “And three on the list are from… (drum roll)… Monmouth!”

    My head just exploded… And then it exploded AGAIN.


  • Jay

    Well some schools/areas have more demand for college soccer. The demand is also there in SEC land but they have to cut something to comply with Title IX. If Title IX didn’t exist you can bet most SEC schools would have soccer programs. And more baseball programs would start up again too. There’s nothing wrong with the intent of Title IX, but it’s results are completely stupid.


Add your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More from SBI Soccer