College Soccer

Wenger, Noyola win Hermann Trophy


Duke standout Andrew Wenger and Stanford senior Teresa Noyola were named winners of the Hermann Trophy on Saturday in recognition of being the top players in Division I NCAA soccer.

Wenger, who signed a Generation Adidas contract after a stellar junior year at Duke, led the ACC with 17 goals and eight assists. Despite the goal-scoring record, he is widely expected to be selected as a defender or defensive midfielder in the 2012 MLS Superdraft. Wenger will likely be a top five pick and is projected to be selected second by the Vancouver Whitecaps in the most recent Fox Soccer mock draft.

Noyola is the third-straight woman from Stanford to win the Hermann Trophy. The senior midfielder led the Cardinal to its first-ever national championship, scoring the game winning goal in the final against Florida. Noyola is already a full international for Mexico and appeared in last summer's Women's World Cup.

The Hermann trophy is voted on by coaches who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America. 

Share your thoghts on the winners below.

  • hogatroge

    Random thought, but this seems like a decent enough thread to post in.

    Montreal already have 9 foreign players on the roster. If they’re so high on Mattocks and are basically guaranteed to take him, that will put them at 10. Plus, they seem to be interested in bringing in a DPm who will likely be foreign-born.

    Somebody’s going to hit them where it hurts in a trade for more foreign-player slots.


Add your comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More from SBI Soccer


A busy week for the USL kicks off Friday night in Kansas City with last year’s western conference champions, Swope Park Rangers, taking on current leaders, San Antonio FC. Reno 1868 FC’s match (…)