FIFA announces allocation of World Cup pots

FIFA announces allocation of World Cup pots

World Cup 2014

FIFA announces allocation of World Cup pots

2014FIFAWorldCuplogo2 (FIFA)


FIFA announced the 2014 World Cup pots on Tuesday, and as expected the U.S. Men’s National Team is in one that could leave them facing some serious competition in Brazil.

The U.S. was revealed to be an unseeded team in Pot 3 alongside the three other CONCACAF nations and four AFC representatives at a press conference held by FIFA in Bahia. While Tuesday’s news of which pot the Americans landed in is unsurprising, it confirms that their chances of being drawn into a potential Group of Death are high given the overall talent in the three remaining pots.

Heavyweights like Spain and hosts Brazil mostly comprise Pot 1 while the five CAF countries and Chile and Ecuador are in Pot 2. Nine UEFA teams make up Pot 4, but one will wind up being tossed into Pot 2 during the World Cup draw in order to even out the playing field.

FIFA will hold the highly-anticipated draw is this Friday in Bahia.

Here are the complete 2014 World Cup pots:

POT 1: Argentina, Brazil, Belgium, Colombia, Germany, Spain, Switzerland, Uruguay

POT 2: Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana, Nigeria

POT 3: USA, Mexico, Honduras, Costa Rica, Korea Republic, Japan, Australia, Iran

POT 4: Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia


What do you think of these pots? Starting to get really nervous over who the U.S. could be drawn with on Friday? Who do you think the U.S. will draw?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI