Howard, Klinsmann, Morgan take home inaugural CONCACAF year-end awards

Howard, Klinsmann, Morgan take home inaugural CONCACAF year-end awards

U.S. Men's National Team

Howard, Klinsmann, Morgan take home inaugural CONCACAF year-end awards

USA manager Jurgen Klinsmann looks at goalkeeper Tim Howard during the press conference

Photo by


In addition to a record year that saw U.S. Men’s National Team head coach Jurgen Klinsmann and goalkeeper Tim Howard win the Hexagonal with a record amount of points, both of them took home year-end awards from CONCACAF.

In the first-ever CONCACAF awards, Klinsmann was named Coach of the Year, Howard was awarded Goalkeeper of the Year, and U.S. Women’s National Team forward Alex Morgan earned Female Player of the Year, ahead of teammate Abby Wambach. USMNT forward Landon Donovan finished second in the Male Player of the Year award voting behind Mexico’s Oribe Peralta, while Clint Dempsey finished third.

The only other American to finish in the top three for an award was USMNT forward Jozy Altidore, who finished third in Goal of the Year honors for his goal against Honduras on June 18.

Here’s a look at the winners of the inaugural CONCACAF awards:


Male Player of the Year

Winner: Oribe Peralta – Santos Laguna/Mexico

Second Place: Landon Donovan – LA Galaxy/USA

Third Place: Clint Dempsey – Seattle Sounders/USA

Female Player of the Year

Winner: Alex Morgan – Portland Thorns/USA

Second Place: Abby Wambach – Western NY Flash/USA

Third Place: Shirley Cruz – PSG/Costa Rica

Goalkeeper of the Year

Winner: Tim Howard – Everton/USA

Second Place: Raul Gudiño – Mexico U-17

Third Place: Keylor Navas – Levante/Spain

Coach of the Year

Winner: Jurgen Klinsmann – USA

Second Place: Miguel Herrera – Club America/Mexico

Third Place: Luis Fernando Suarez – Honduras

Referee of the Year

Winner: Marco Antonio Rodriguez – Mexico

Second Place: Roberto Garcia – Mexico

Third Place: Courtney Campbell – Jamaica

Goal of the Year

Winner: Raul Jimenez – Mexico vs. Panama, Oct. 11, 2013

Second Place: Juan Carlos Garcia – Honduras vs. USA, Feb. 6, 2013

Third Place: Jozy Altidore – USA vs. Honduras, June 18, 2013


What do you think of these awards? Glad to see Howard, Klinsmann, and Morgan honored?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI