MLS announces finalists for 2008 awards

MLS announces finalists for 2008 awards

Major League Soccer

MLS announces finalists for 2008 awards



Major League Soccer announced the finalists for its 2008 awards on Thursday. Columbus Crew star Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Chicago goalkeeper Jon Busch and San Jose midfielder Darren Huckerby were among the players up for regular season honors.

As expected, Schelotto and Donovan were among the finalists for leage MVP honors, with Cuauhtemoc Blanco being the third nominee. Blanco is the lone repeat finalist for the award.

Here is the complete list of award nominees:

2008 MLS Award Finalists

League MVP– Guillermo Barros Schelotto, Landon Donovan, Cuauhtemoc Blanco

Defender of the Year– Bakary Soumare, Chad Marshall, Jimmy Conrad

Goalkeeper of the Year– Jon Busch, Matt Reis, Will Hesmer

Rookie of the Year– Sean Franklin, Geoff Cameron, Kheli Dube

Newcomer of the Year– Darren Huckerby, Claudio Lopez, Andre Rocha

Comeback Player of the Year– Jon Busch, Santino Quaranta, Kenny Cooper

What do you think of the list of nominees? Surprised by any of the selections? Do you see any glaring omissions?

Share your thoughts on the nominations below.

More from

More SBI