Top Stories

Who is your 2009 MLS Newcomer of the Year?

Montero (getty)

The 2009 version of this award could be contended between just players from Seattle. The league's newest club also boasts some (if not all) of the best newcomers MLS has seen this season. From Fredy Montero, Freddie Ljungberg, Kasey Keller, to Jhon Kennedy Hurtado, there's plenty to choose from when selecting the award.

Montero looked like a sure thing at the beginning of the season, but has cooled off of late. Still, as Seattle's leading goal scorer, he's been important in their success. Ljungberg battled through some injuries that probably leave him just out of the running. Keller and Hurtado have been consistent and huge in defense for the Sounders.

What about outside Seattle? It's slim pickings. Donovan Ricketts has been outstanding in Los Angeles this year and certainly deserves consideration. His play in goal has helped key the turnaround led by Bruce Arena. David Ferreira has come on strong as of late out in Dallas, with their four game winning streak due in part to the Colombian looking more settled in MLS. On the East Coast, Dejan Jakovic has been a great addition for D.C. United, but his side has leaked too many goals for him to crack the top five.

Who gets your vote for newcomer of the year? Cast your vote below.

Who did you vote for? Any newcomers missing that could be on the list? Will a Sounder not win it?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. Newcomer Non Best XI

    ——L. Escalada — S. Bucknor——
    –R. El-Khalifi — C. Birchall — J. Smith–
    Z. Scott — S. Purdy — F. da Silva — M. Danso
    ————M. Kocic—————–

  2. How about the Seattle Sounders franchise and their fans as the MLS Newcomer of the Year? They’ve given the league a much needed boost, and have raised the bar for existing, and future, MLS teams.

  3. Without Ricketts where would Galaxy be? He made some crucial saves and Bruce Arena knows a thing or two about selecting good players; the same team from two seasons ago is heading to the postseason.

  4. How is Dejan Jakovic not on this list??????? He’s been a rock in the middle for DC. Without him, DC is not even as close to making the playoffs as they are right now.

  5. WHile the Seattle players have contributed greatly to the success of their team, they end up cancelling each other out in my mind to a certain extent. And although Ricketts is not the only new player at LAG, it seems he has been more key to their turn-around so I voted for him.

  6. If a veteran keeper is allowed to win this award I say Keller. Hurtado has done well, but Keller organizes the defense and has also come up with some big saves.

    Montero has done well adjusting to the MLS style of play over the course of the season, but has been a bit too inconsistent overall.

  7. Montero seems the easy answer. And unless the goal play is spectacular these types of awards generally go to offensive-type players and then that order. But i think Ricketts deserves real considerations here. He has been extremely solid for the Gals and has been one of the key reasons Bruce has been able to turn around the Gals.


Leave a Comment