Top Stories

CONCACAF Champions League: Your Running Commentary


With Group A victories tonight, Real Salt Lake and Cruz Azul can punch their tickets to the knockout stage of the CONCACAF Champions League.

Salt Lake travels to BMO Field to take on a desperate Toronto FC team (8 p.m., Fox Soccer Channel) that has had it's MLS playoff hopes slip away while its star player is concurrently upset with his contract situation. TFC needs a win to keep its CCL dreams alive. RSL, meanwhile, is in an ideal spot, having a rested lineup that is going for the jugular all while being in a comfortable situation in MLS play.

Cruz Azul faces Group A's weakest team, Arabe Unido, knowing that a home win would eliminate the Panamanian side from contention.

Elsewhere in the CCL, Monterrey takes on Saprissa (10 p.m., Galavision) in a Group C match. Monterrey is a perfect 4-0 in group play, and a win or draw would clinch the group's top spot for the Mexican club.

If you will be watching any or all of these matches, please feel free to share your thoughts, opinions and any play-by-play in the comments section below. Enjoy the action! 


  1. No John, SiverRey is correct, you’re wrong. Read Rule 12: “(An indirect free kick will be taken when a goalkeeper) touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate”. The referee blew that call. Because it touched his feet first is irrelevant. It never touched another player first, so it should have been called.

  2. Your wrong. A keeper can pick up a throw in from his own team. In fact, you can’t score directly from a throw in. If a throw in goes in the net without any contact from any other player, it would be either corner or a goal kick depending on who threw it. If Conway didn’t make any contact when he wiffed it, it would have been a corner if it would have gone in.

  3. Granted the ref wanted to go home(as he called the game seconds later), but Conway picking up the ball after his whiff should have been called. Throw in to the keeper, keeper ‘passes’ it to himself, no RSL contact means the ref blows his whistle against Conway.

  4. As an RSL fan, I wish that goal off Conway would have gone in. As a human being, I am glad that it didn’t, because that would have been horrible.

  5. Indeed we have. And I was there those first few years the team was guided by that lousy excuse of a coach John Ellinger. Let’s go RSL and win CCL and make it two MLS cups in a row.


Leave a Comment