Top Stories

The 2010 MLS Playoff Field is set

  MLS Logo


After 30 weeks of action, the MLS Playoff Field is now set as eight teams vie to lift the 2010 MLS Cup title next month in Toronto.

The Western Conference has dominated league play all season and will send six teams to the playoffs, with the Los Angeles Galaxy holding the distinction as top seed in the West. The New York Red Bulls have made the transformation from cellar dweller to conference champion and will be the top seed in the East.

Here are the first-round MLS Playoff match-ups:


1. New York Red Bulls vs. 4. San Jose Earthquakes

2. Columbus Crew vs. 3. Colorado Rapids


1. Los Angeles Galaxy vs. 4. Seattle Sounders

2. Real Salt Lake vs. 3. FC Dallas


Here is a rundown of the full first-round playoff schedule and TV listings:

2010 MLS Playoff First Round Schedule


9pm- ESPN2- Columbus Crew at Colorado Rapids


5pm or 5:30pm- Fox Soccer Channel- Real Salt Lake at FC Dallas

10pm- Telefutura- New York Red Bulls at San Jose Earthquakes


8pm- ESPN2- Los Angeles Galaxy at Seattle Sounders


8pm- ESPN2- San Jose Earthquakes at New York Red Bulls


4pm- Telefutura- Colorado Rapids at Columbus Crew

10pm- Fox Soccer Channel- FC Dallas at Real Salt Lake


9pm- ESPN2- Seattle Sounders at Los Angeles Galaxy


What do you think of the match-ups? Which series are you most interested in watching? Which series not involving your favorite team will you be looking forward to the most?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. I think the East will surprise (sort of) with BRNY and Columbus both winning their series. LA over Seattle, and Salt Lake beating Dallas.

    @Dude, I think we will see a more involved and effective Henry … at least I hope so.


Leave a Comment