Top Stories

Who gets your vote for the National Soccer Hall of Fame?


Photo by

U.S. Soccer released its ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame on Tuesday, with 31 former players — and 12 first-time nominees — making the final ballot for the Class of 2012.

Among the first-timers are former U.S. goalkeeper Tony Meola and captain Claudio Reyna. Conversely, Peter Nowak, Mike Burns, Carlos Valderrama and Peter Vermes are in their final year of eligibility to be elected off the Player's Ballot.

To be eligible for selection, players must be retired for between three and 10 years and have either 20 caps to their name or played five seasons in an American first-division league while being named to an all-league or all-star team at least once, according to U.S. Soccer. Voters, which are comprised of Hall of Famers, select soccer administrators and select media members, can make up to 10 selections, with players who appear on two-thirds of all ballots getting inducted.

With that said, who gets your vote for the National Soccer Hall of Fame? Check out the 31-player ballot after the jump and vote for the players who you think merit induction:


Aside from the player ballot, a couple groups of individuals are eligible for induction off the Veteran's Ballot and Builder's Ballot.

Desmond Armstrong, George Best, Teofilo Cubillas, John Doyle, Linda Hamilton, Bill McPherson, Shep Messing, Glenn Myernick, Brian Quinn, Mike Sorber and Steve Trittschuh are eligible as Veterans — players who have been retired for more than 10 years and otherwise have the same eligibility requirements as those on the Player's Ballot. All but Quinn, Sorber and Trittschuh have appeared on the ballot before. The veterans are voted on by current Hall of Fame members.

Chuck Blazer, Bob Bradley, Bob Contiguglia, Tony DiCicco, Don Garber, Francisco Marcos, Fritz Marth and Sigi Schmid are eligible for induction off the Builder's Ballot, which is for individuals who have had an impact on the sport in this country in a non-playing capacity for at least 10 years. Current Hall of Famers and select soccer administrators vote on their inclusion. Blazer, Contiguglia, DiCicco, Marcos, Marth and Schmid are repeat candidates after previously appearing on the Ballot.


How did you vote? Who do you think deserves a place in the National Soccer Hall of Fame off all of the ballots?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. Not a huge fan of near post Tony as I think Keller got jobbed in the 94 world cup to the detriment of the US team but due to the number of caps near post Tony had, I had to vote to put him in.

  2. US Soccer Fan : I could not agree more. Just hearing the name Reyna make me cringe… I mean how are you going to get waxed then look up and watch Ghana score a goal on you, THEN pretend like your knee exploded…

    Too all you Reyna supporters you must have forgotten how terrible he was. You guys are are also probably the same people who think watching Alexi Lalas get hit in the nuts during the opening scene of BASEketball is not funny… I just don’t understand you people

  3. Now that’s just not very nice. Why don’t you go put your shinguards with ankle protectors on and go out for your over 40 coed league practice. Don’t forget to check the mailbox on the way home for your Earthquakes season ticket package!


Leave a Comment