Top Stories

Alvarez and Mullins headline Herman Award semifinalists

Photo by

UConn playmaker Carlos Alvarez and Maryland scoring leader Patrick Mullins  were the headliners on a list of 15 semifinalists for the 2012 MAC Hermann Award for best college soccer player.

Akron  midfielder Scott Caldwell and Notre Dame teammates Dillon Powers and Ryan Finley were other top players who will be in the running for the honor, which will be announced in January.

Here are the semifinalists:

Carlos Alvarez (UConn), Don Anding (Northeastern), Ashton Bennett (Coastal Carolina), Scott Caldwell (Akron), Mamadou Doudou Diouf (UConn), Andrew Farrell (Louisville), Ryan Finley (Notre Dame), Jose Gomez (Creighton), Daniel Haber (Cornell), Robbie Kristo (Saint Louis), Patrick Mullins (Maryland), Steve Neumann (Georgetown), Dillon Powers (Notre Dame), Devon Sandoval (New Mexico), Chris Thomas (Elon).

The three finalists for the Hermann Award will be announced on Dec. 6th, with the winner revealed on Jan. 10th in St. Louis.

Who on this list gets your vote for college player of the year? Who is missing from the list that you feel should have made it?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. If it wasn’t already a glaring absence before last night’s match against defending champs UNC, it is now; IU’s Eriq Zavaleta deserves a spot on this list.

  2. So glad to see Mullins on the semi-finalist list after not making the preseason list! While he didn’t have as prolific as season as he did lat year, Stertzer should be on this list too for Maryland. Regardless, Maryland wins the National Championship and Mullins becomes the next Hermann Award winner for Maryland since Jason Garey!


Leave a Comment