Top Stories

29 players invited to U.S. Under-17 residency program

Head Coach: Richie Williams


Say hello to the next generation of U.S. Men’s National Team talent.

U.S. Soccer announced on Tuesday Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach Richie Williams’ decision on which 29 players to invite to for the 2014 Fall Semester of the U.S. U-17 Residency Program in Bradenton, Florida.

More than two-thirds of the roster are returnees from the 2014 Spring Semester, including LA Galaxy Academy defender Hugo Arellano, who is the most capped current U-17 player with 16 international appearances already. Twenty-four of the players invited for the fall semester have competed in recent major U-17 events, such as the Nordic Tournament and the third Copa Mexico.

The nine newcomers to the U-17 Residency Program are defenders Tyler Adams and Miles Stray, midfielders Keegan Kelly and Luka Prpa, and forwards Lucas Del Rosario, Ronaldo Escudero, Joe Gallardo, Lagos Kunga and Nick Taitague.

The players will undoubtedly be vying for a spot in the next major international tournament for U.S. Soccer, the 2015 CONCACAF U-17 Championship, which will take place in Honduras next February and March.

Here’s a breakdown of the 29 players invited:

Eric Lopez (LA Galaxy Academy; Westminster, Calif.)
William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechanicsville, Va.)
Kevin Silva (Players Development Academy; Bethlehem, Pa.)

Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls Academy; Wappingers Falls, N.Y.)
Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy Academy; Norwalk, Calif.)
Nikkye De Point (Empire Revolution; Rochester, N.Y.)
Tanner Dieterich (Real Salt Lake AZ; Nashville, Tenn.)
John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio)
Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy; Trenton, N.J.)
Logan Panchot (St. Louis Scott Gallagher Missouri; St. Louis, Mo.)
Miles Stray (Real Salt Lake AZ; Point Reyes, Calif.)
Alexis Velela (San Diego Surf; San Diego, Calif.)

George Braima (Crew Soccer Academy; Columbus, Ohio)
Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal; Palmdale, Calif.)
Keegan Kelly (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.)
Thomas McCabe (Players Development Academy; South Orange, N.J.)
Weston McKennie (FC Dallas Academy; Little Elm, Texas)
Luka Prpa (Chicago Magic PSG; Wind Lake, Wis.)
Brian Zelaya (De Anza Force; San Mateo, Calif.)
Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas Academy; El Paso, Texas)

Pierre Da Silva (New York Soccer Club; Port Chester, N.Y.)
Lucas Del Rosario (Capital Area RailHawks – CASL; Durham, N.C.)
Ronaldo Escudero (Pateadores; Placentia, Calif.)
McKinze Gaines (Lonestar SC; Austin, Texas)
Joe Gallardo (Monterrey; San Diego, Calif.)
Lagos Kunga (DDYSC 98 Wolves Elite; Atlanta, Ga.)
Eric Matzelevich (Bethesda-Olney; Washington, D.C.)
Elijah Rice (Chicago Magic PSG; Highland Park, Ill.)
Nick Taitague (Richmond United; Midlothian, Va.)


Leave a Comment