Top Stories

Howard, Dempsey nominated for CONCACAF Player of the Year

TimHowardUSA1-Belgium2014 (Getty)


Tim Howard has already earned recognition as 2014 U.S. Soccer Male Athlete of the Year, but the U.S. Men’s National Team goalkeeper may not be done collecting awards for his 2014 performances.

Howard has been nominated for CONCACAF Player of the Year along with teammate Clint Dempsey, Mexico’s Giovani Dos Santos, Javier Hernandez, Rafa Marquez and Guillermo Ochoa, as well as Costa Rica’s Celso Borges, Joel Campbell, Kaylor Navas and Bryan Ruiz.

In addition to his nomination for Player of the Year, Howard is also on the shortlist for Goalkeeper of the Year alongside Ochoa, Navas, Real Salt Lake’s Nick Rimando, the Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake, and the LA Galaxy’s Jaime Penedo, amongst others.

The nominees for Female Player of the Year also feature a slew of American nominees, including Abby Wambach, Alex Morgan, Carli Lloyd, Hope Solo and Lauren Holiday.

Both U.S. National Team coaches, Jurgen Klinsmann and Jill Ellis, along with LA Galaxy coach Bruce Arena, have picked up nominations for Coach of the Year, while referee Mark Geiger is the United States’ lone representative in the Referee of the Year voting.

Finally, Jermaine Jones’ World Cup strike against Portugal is among 10 nominees for Goal of the Year.

What do you think of the nominees for CONCACAF’s year-end awards? Who will you be voting for?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. Navas then Ochoa then Howard then Ruiz then Dempsey.

    Way tk go Costa Ricans. Underdogs punching above their weight. So close to a semi-final place. Cant wait to see them in the Gold Cup


Leave a Comment