NCAA tournament field set with ACC boasting seven teams

NCAA tournament field set with ACC boasting seven teams

College Soccer

NCAA tournament field set with ACC boasting seven teams


Photo by Brian Westerholt/Sports On Film

Photo by Brian Westerholt/Sports On Film

While 24 teams claimed a conference title and an automatic berth into the 2015 NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament, 24 at-large teams were added into the mix on Monday.

The tournament is officially set after seeding of all 48 teams took place during the DI Men’s Soccer Selection Show. Wake Forest earns the tournament’s overall No. 1 seed, while 34 teams will kick off the First Round on Thursday.

In total, the ACC has the most programs represented, as seven teams made the cut. Five of those programs received a seed No. 7 or better.

Denver, the nation’s only unbeaten team, was handed the No. 13 seed, while Big East Conference champion Georgetown was awarded the third overall seed.

Here is the NCAA tournament schedule:

First Round (Nov. 19):

  • Coastal Carolina vs. North Florida
  • Kentucky vs. Drake
  • Tulsa vs. Florida International
  • Virginia vs. Rider
  • South Carolina vs. Furman
  • Elon vs. Winthrop
  • Charlotte vs. Radford
  • UConn vs. Boston U.
  • Dayton vs. Oakland
  • CSU Fullerton vs. Santa Clara
  • SMU vs. Utah Valley
  • Rutgers vs. LIU Brooklyn
  • Hofstra vs. Lehigh
  • Boston College vs. Vermont
  • UCLA vs. Cal Poly
  • Dartmouth vs. Hartwick

Second Round (Nov. 22):

  • (1) Wake Forest vs. Winner of Charlotte/Radford
  • (16) Indiana vs. Winner of UConn/Boston U.
  • (9) Ohio State vs. Winner of Dayton/Oakland
  • (8) Stanford vs. Winner of CSU Fullerton/Santa Clara
  • (5) North Carolina vs. Winner of Coastal Carolina/North Florida
  • (12) Creighton vs. Winner of Kentucky/Drake
  • (13) Denver vs. Winner of SMU/Utah Valley
  • (4) Akron vs. Winner of Rutgers/LIU Brooklyn
  • (3) Georgetown vs. Winner of Hofstra/Lehigh
  • (14) South Florida vs. Winner of Boston College/Vermont
  • (11) Seattle vs. Winner of UCLA/Cal Poly
  • (6) Syracuse vs. Dartmouth/Hartwick
  • (7) Notre Dame vs. Tulsa/Florida International
  • (10) Maryland vs. Winner of Virginia/Rider
  • (15) UC Santa Barbara vs. Winner of South Carolina/Furman
  • (2) Clemson vs. Elon/Winthrop

Third Round (Nov. 28 or 29)

Quarterfinals (Dec. 4 or 5)

College Cup: Details regarding the semifinals and final will be determined on Dec. 5.

What do you think of the selection? Who do you think will win the College Cup this year?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI