Top Stories

Carli Lloyd named FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year

Photo by Anne-Marie-Sorvin/ USA Today Sports
Photo by Anne-Marie-Sorvin/ USA Today Sports

Following a summer that saw her lead the U.S. Women’s National Team to the 2015 Women’s World Cup, Carli Lloyd has been recognized with the biggest individual award in women’s soccer.

FIFA announced on Monday that Lloyd has been named the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year. Lloyd, who was recognized for the award at Monday’s Ballon d’Or Gala, received 35.28% of the vote while beating out fellow finalists Célia Šašić (12.60%) and Aya Miyama (9.88%).

Lloyd’s award comes on the heels of this summer’s Women’s World Cup triumph that saw the U.S. Women’s National Team midfielder score a hat-trick in the tournament final. Lloyd’s performances saw her score the tournament’s Golden Ball and Silver Boot while netting six times.

“It truly is an honor,” Lloyd said. “This has been a dream of mine ever since I started my journey with the national team. Celia and Aya both are amazing footballers and are truly deserving of this award. I want to thank Jill (Ellis), the coaching staff and all of our support staff.

“I wouldn’t be standing up here if it wasn’t for my teammates. To James (Galanis), we started this journey 13 years ago and you told me I could become the best player in the world. Now I can thank you for that.”

What do you think of Lloyd’s award? What are your expectations for the USWNT midfielder in 2016?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. Legendary! Greatest individual performance in a World Cup Final ever (man or woman). Too bad it’s not appreciated the way it should because of the status of woman’s soccer worldwide.


Leave a Comment