CONCACAF reveals shortlists for annual awards

CONCACAF reveals shortlists for annual awards

Canadian Soccer

CONCACAF reveals shortlists for annual awards



CONCACAF has announced the shortlists for the confederation’s third-annual awards, with a number of Americans in the running for the accolades.

U.S. Men’s National Team standouts Clint Dempsey and Michael Bradley join Mexican stars Andres Guardado, Hirving Lozano, Jesus Corona, Oribe Peralta and Javier Hernandez on the shortlist for Male Player of the Year. MLS Rookie of the Year Cyle Larin, as well as Costa Rica’s Bryan Ruiz and Jamaica’s Rodolph Austin, round out the nominees.

Just a day after taking home the trophy for FIFA Woman Player of the Year, Carli Lloyd headlines the shortlist for the Female Player of the Year award in CONCACAF. Lloyd is joined by USWNT teammates and World Cup winners Alex Morgan, Megan Rapinoe, Hope Solo and the centerback the pairing of Becky Sauerbrunn and Julie Johnston.

Reviewing the 10 candidates for Goal of the Year will bring both overwhelming pain and joy to fans of U.S. Soccer, as Carli Lloyd’s World Cup strike from midfield is joined by goals from Chicharito and Paul Aguilar in Mexico’s CONCACAF Cup victory.

Both senior U.S. National Team head coaches made their respective Coach of the Year shortlists, with MLS Cup winner Caleb Porter and MLS Coach of the Year recipient Jesse Marsch also making the the cut for the male category. Laura Harvey of Seattle Reign FC and Michelle French of the U.S. Women’s Under-20 National Team also appear on the female shortlist.

Americans and MLS/NWSL players dominate the Goalkeeper of the Year nominations, with 12 out of the 20 candidates representing the U.S. in club or national team duty.

The Female Referee of the Year shortlist includes three Americans, with Karen Abt, Katja Koroleva, and Margaret Domka all representing the U.S. No American candidates made the final list for Male Referee of the Year.

Each associations’ men’s and women’s national team coaches and captains, as well as media and fans, will vote for the winners in each category. Voting is open until 5 p.m. on Monday, and fans can cast their ballot here.

What do you think of these CONCACAF nominations? Think the shortlists properly reflect the performances of 2015? Any unwarranted inclusions or exclusions?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More U.S. Men's National Team