Top Stories

NASL Playoff Rewind: Cosmos, Indy Eleven bound for final


Just two teams remain, as the New York Cosmos and Indy Eleven are bound for the NASL final.

The Cosmos’ pursuit of a third title in four years continued through Saturday despite having to comeback from an early deficit against Rayo OKC. Indy Eleven, meanwhile, rode their defense and a stunning Sinisa Ubiparipovic strike to topple FC Edmonton at Michael A. Carroll Stadium.

With the final pairing now set, the Cosmos and Indy Eleven will now collide Nov. 13 at Belson Stadium.

Here’s a closer look at the NASL semifinal results:


Rayo OKC scored first, but a second half comeback from the New York Cosmos sealed yet another berth in the league final.

Juan Arango provided the equalizing goal before Yohandry Orozco fired a memorable winner, earning the Cosmos a 2-1 win over Rayo OKC at Shuart Stadium. The win sees the Cosmos advance to the league final for the third time in four seasons, with the past two each resulting in titles.

Rayo OKC opened the scoring in the 37th minute, as Futty Danso smashed home a header on a Michel cross. The lead lasted until the 73rd minute, when Arango fired home his 16th goal of the year to level the score.

Arango also led the NASL in assists, and the Venezuelan star added another to his statsheet on the winner. Orozco found himself on the other end, firing a 90th minute winner to send the Cosmos through to the final.


Indy Eleven needed just one to topple FC Edmonton.

Sinisa Ubiparipovic scored the lone goal on Saturday night, lifting Indy Eleven past the Eddies, 1-0, at Michael A. Carroll Stadium. The win sends the Eleven to the NASL final for the first time in club history while setting up a matchup between the league’s top two regular season teams.

Ubiparipovic’s winner was a spectacular one. The Indy Eleven midfielder’s shot came from 20-yards out, sealing Ubiparipovic’s second-straight run to the NASL final after previously reaching the finale last season with Ottawa Fury FC.

With the win, Indy Eleven finished the season unbeaten at Michael A. Carroll Stadium and continue a 17-game unbeaten run dating back to 2015.

Leave a Comment