Arena names 23-man squad for Serbia, Jamaica friendlies

Arena names 23-man squad for Serbia, Jamaica friendlies


Arena names 23-man squad for Serbia, Jamaica friendlies

Photo by Jayne Kamin-Oncea/USA Today Sports

Photo by Jayne Kamin-Oncea/USA Today Sports

Bruce Arena has confirmed the 23-man squad that will compete for selection in his first game back as U.S. Men’s National Team manager.

The former LA Galaxy boss kept many of the regular starters like Michael Bradley, Alejando Bedoya, Jozy Altidore and Jordan Morris in the squad, but he also opened the door for some MLS-based players to make an impact on the pitch after an impressive two-week training stint in California.

Chris Pontius, Sebastian Lletget, Walker Zimmerman and Chad Marshall are among those coming off a successful 2016 campaign on the domestic level that will have a chance to impress Arena on Sunday against Serbia in San Diego.

Jorge Villafana, who just joined the USMNT camp this week, is one of eight defenders included in the squad for Sunday’s trip to San Diego and Friday’s clash with Jamaica in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Keegan Rosenberry, Wil Trapp, Taylor Kemp, Brian Rowe and Chris Wondolowski were sent back to their respective clubs, while Gyasi Zardes will not travel with the team due to a minor contusion in his right knee.

Here’s a closer look at the roster:

GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (LA Galaxy), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)


More from

More SBI