Lletget, Frei, Manneh headline squad for USMNT January camp

Lletget, Frei, Manneh headline squad for USMNT January camp


Lletget, Frei, Manneh headline squad for USMNT January camp


Photo by Dan Hamilton/USA Today Sports

Photo by Dan Hamilton/USA Today Sports

The annual January camp will serve as Bruce Arena’s first since returning as head coach of the U.S. Men’s National Team, and the former LA Galaxy boss took the chance to call in several new faces and experienced veterans in his first camp in charge.

Sebastian Lletget, Stefan Frei, Kekutah Manneh and Taylor Kemp are among the newcomers that will join the USMNT for January camp, which begins on Jan. 10. The gathering of the MLS-based squad will culminated with a pair of friendlies against Serbia and Jamaica on Jan. 29 and Feb. 3, respectively.

Of the 32 players called into camp, Arena included several notable regulars after previously confirming that newcomers Manneh, Keegan Rosenberry and Walker Zimmerman would be joining the team for camp. Captain Michael Bradley returns, as do the currently unattached DaMarcus Beasley and Jermaine Jones. Bradley’s Toronto FC teammate, Jozy Altidore, also joins the team after a spectacular MLS playoff run while the forward pool is also boosted by the return of the previously-injured Gyasi Zardes.

Among the more interesting absences is Clint Dempsey, who Arena previously stated was a player that he would like to have in camp. The Seattle Sounders forward has been out of action for several months due to a heart issue and was not included on Arena’s 32-man squad.

Here’s a closer look at the entire USMNT squad for January camp:

GOALKEEPERS: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake), Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Unattached), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Taylor Kemp (D.C. United), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Walker Zimmerman (FC Dallas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Benny Feilhaber (Sporting Kansas City), Jermaine Jones (Unattached), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy), Kekuta Manneh (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

More from

More SBI