MLS releases full 2017 regular season schedule

MLS releases full 2017 regular season schedule

Major League Soccer

MLS releases full 2017 regular season schedule

Image (1) phpcccuoxmls_logo_panel.jpg for post 123822

Just a few months away from opening day, MLS released its full 2017 regular season schedule on Thursday afternoon.

The upcoming season is set to begin on March 3 and run through Oct. 22, when all 22 of the league’s teams will take the field for Decision Day festivities. The season will feature a total of 374 matches, as each team plays a 34-game schedule. Teams will face each of their 10 conference foes twice and each opposing conference foe once with the three additional matches being additional intraconference clashes.

Each team’s home opener was previously announced by the league.

The season will feature two rivalry weeks, with the first coming June 23-25 and the second set for August 23-27.

The league will also feature a five-match schedule on the Fourth of July, with both Minnesota United and Atlanta United taking the field as part of the holiday action. Following that, though, there will be a 10-day break for the Gold Cup as teams take off from July 7 through July 17.

With regards to television schedules, a total of 78 matches will be broadcasted nationally throughout the regular season. Fox features a total of 33 of those matches with 29 coming on Fox Sports 1 while the additional four will be broadcast in Fox. ESPN will broadcast a total of 28 matches with three additional contests on ESPN 2 while UniMas and UniVision will feature 18 and six matches, respectively.

Which matches are you most looking forward to in 2017 Did your team get enough national spotlight from the schedule-makers? Which games are you most excited about

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI