Ronaldo, Lloyd headline FIFA award winners

Ronaldo, Lloyd headline FIFA award winners


Ronaldo, Lloyd headline FIFA award winners


Carli Lloyd and Cristiano Ronaldo were honored once again as the game’s top two players at Monday’s FIFA awards.

The two were named Best Women’s and Men’s Player of the Year, respectively, at the event, which was held in Zurich. Ronaldo’s award comes shortly following the Real Madrid star’s capture of the Ballon d’Or, which was given as a separate award this year for the first time since 2011.

Lloyd captured the award with 20.68 percent of the total votes, which are comprised of submissions from national team captains, national team coaches, fans and media. Behind Lloyd, Brazilian star Marta sealed 16.6 percent of the vote while Melanie Behringer of Germant finished third with 12.34 percent.

Following a season that saw him capture both the Champions League crown and Euro 2016, Ronaldo cruised to his victory with 34.54 percent of the voting. Behind him, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann finished with 26.42 and 7.53 percent, finishing second and third.

In other awards, Claudio Rainieri topped Real Madrid boss Zinedine Zidane and Portugal manager Fernando Santos to win the Men’s Coach award, while Jill Ellis finished second to German coach Silvia Neid in the Women’s Coach voting.

Also announced on Monday was FIFA’s Team of the Year, which was headlined by nine players from Real Madrid and Barcelona.

Take a closer look at the Team of the Year below:

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer
Defenders: Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo
Midfielders: Luka Modric, Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta
Forwards: Lionel Messi, Luis Suarez, Cristiano Ronaldo

More from

More SBI