Top Stories

MLS releases list of players eligible for MLS All-Star fan vote

Photo by Abel Arciniega/ Chicago Fire

Just several months away from the MLS All-Star game, the league has unveiled a list of players eligible to participate in this summer’s big match.

MLS unveiled an 176-player list on Tuesday featuring eight players from each team eligible for a fan vote. One goalkeeper, three defenders, four midfielders and two forwards will be determined by fan voting while the 11th, a forward, will be determined by the forward fans score the most goals with in this year’s EA Sports FIFA 17 until June 30.

A total of 24 players will be named to the roster which will be based on input from the fan vote, head coach Veljko Paunovic and MLS Commissioner Don Garber.

The MLS All-Star team is set to take on Real Madrid on August 2 at Soldier Field.

Here’s the complete list of players eligible for fan voting with their respective positions:

ATL Greg Garza D
ATL Leandro Pirez D
ATL Yamil Asad F
ATL Josef Martinez F
ATL Hector Villalba F
ATL Alec Kann GK
ATL Miguel Almiron M
ATL Julian Gressel M
CHI Johan Kappelhof D
CHI Brandon Vincent D
CHI Nemanja Nikolic F
CHI Jorge Rodrigo Bava GK
CHI David Accam M
CHI Juninho M
CHI Dax McCarty M
CHI Bastian Schweinsteiger M
COL Micheal Azira D
COL Axel Sjöberg D
COL Shkelzen Gashi F
COL Tim Howard GK
COL Dominique Badji M
COL Kevin Doyle M
COL Marlon Hairston M
COL Dillon Powers M
CLB Nicolai Naess D
CLB Ola Kamara F
CLB Zack Steffen GK
CLB Artur M
CLB Ethan Finlay M
CLB Federico Higuain M
CLB Justin Meram M
CLB Wil Trapp M
DC Steve Birnbaum D
DC Bobby Boswell D
DC Taylor Kemp D
DC Sébastien Le Toux F
DC Bill Hamid GK
DC Luciano Acosta M
DC Ian Harkes M
DC Lloyd Sam M
DAL Maynor Figueroa D
DAL Matt Hedges D
DAL Walker Zimmerman D
DAL Maximiliano Urruti F
DAL Jesse Gonzalez GK
DAL Kellyn Acosta M
DAL Michael Barrios M
DAL Carlos Gruezo M
HOU DaMarcus Beasley D
HOU AJ DeLaGarza D
HOU Alberth Elis F
HOU Mauro Manotas F
HOU Romell Quioto F
HOU Erick Torres F
HOU Joe Willis GK
HOU Alex M
LA Ashley Cole D
LA Jelle Van Damme D
LA Giovani dos Santos F
LA Gyasi Zardes F
LA Brian Rowe GK
LA Romain Alessandrini M
LA Emmanuel Boateng M
LA Jermaine Jones M
MIN Marc Burch D
MIN Francisco Calvo D
MIN Christian Ramirez F
MIN Bobby Shuttleworth GK
MIN Sam Cronin M
MIN Miguel Ibarra M
MIN Kevin Molino M
MIN Johan Venegas M
MTL Laurent Ciman D
MTL Ambroise Oyongo D
MTL Anthony Jackson-Hamel F
MTL Evan Bush GK
MTL Patrice Bernier M
MTL Dominic Oduro M
MTL Ignacio Piatti M
MTL Ballou Jean-Yves Tabla M
NE Andrew Farrell D
NE Juan Agudelo F
NE Kei Kamara F
NE Cody Cropper GK
NE Scott Caldwell M
NE Diego Fagundez M
NE Lee Nguyen M
NE Kelyn Rowe M
NYC Alexander Callens D
NYC Ronald Matarrita D
NYC David Villa F
NYC Rodney Wallace F
NYC Sean Johnson GK
NYC Jack Harrison M
NYC Maxi Moralez M
NYC Alexander Ring M
NY Kemar Lawrence D
NY Aaron Long D
NY Bradley Wright-Phillips F
NY Luis Robles GK
NY Tyler Adams M
NY Felipe M
NY Sacha Kljestan M
NY Daniel Royer M
ORL Jonathan Spector D
ORL Scott Sutter D
ORL Donny Toia D
ORL Cyle Larin F
ORL Joe Bendik GK
ORL Will Johnson M
ORL Kaká M
ORL Carlos Rivas M
PHI Fabinho D
PHI Oguchi Onyewu D
PHI CJ Sapong F
PHI Andre Blake GK
PHI Alejandro Bedoya M
PHI Derrick Jones M
PHI Haris Medunjanin M
PHI Chris Pontius M
POR Liam Ridgewell D
POR Fanendo Adi F
POR Jake Gleeson GK
POR Sebastian Blanco M
POR Diego Chara M
POR David Guzman M
POR Darlington Nagbe M
POR Diego Valeri M
RSL Chris Wingert D
RSL Brooks Lennon F
RSL Yura Movsisyan F
RSL Joao Plata F
RSL Nick Rimando GK
RSL Kyle Beckerman M
RSL Luke Mulholland M
RSL Albert Rusnák M
SJ Victor Bernárdez D
SJ Florian Jungwirth D
SJ Nick Lima D
SJ Marco Ureña F
SJ Chris Wondolowski F
SJ David Bingham GK
SJ Anibal Godoy M
SJ Jahmir Hyka M
SEA Joevin Jones D
SEA Chad Marshall D
SEA Clint Dempsey F
SEA Jordan Morris F
SEA Stefan Frei GK
SEA Osvaldo Alonso M
SEA Nicolás Lodeiro M
SEA Cristian Roldan M
SKC Matt Besler D
SKC Ike Opara D
SKC Graham Zusi D
SKC Dom Dwyer F
SKC Gerso Fernandes F
SKC Tim Melia GK
SKC Roger Espinoza M
SKC Benny Feilhaber M
TOR Nick Hagglund D
TOR Justin Morrow D
TOR Jozy Altidore F
TOR Sebastian Giovinco F
TOR Alex Bono GK
TOR Michael Bradley M
TOR Raheem Edwards M
TOR Victor Vazquez M
VAN Tim Parker D
VAN Kendall Waston D
VAN Fredy Montero F
VAN David Ousted GK
VAN Christian Bolaños M
VAN Matias Laba M
VAN Brek Shea M
VAN Cristian Techera M


  1. I am glad that people care, I barely do and I am obsessed with anything US soccer.

    But it is an AllStar game, fair, non gimmicks, etc has nothing to do with it.
    Making money. That is all.

    I would guess that was the truth in baseball in the 1920s, or whenever they started theirs.

  2. 2 things about this are bugging the crap out of me….
    1) They’ve got players on this list who’ve played like sh!t or have missed significant time with injuries this year….Kljestan, Jones, Kaka, Zardes, Beckerman, etc…. Did the press just go though the rosters an pick names at random…Or pick names that they were familiar with?
    2) Instead of doing an on-line vote (link) you’ve got to download an app in order to participate. shouldn’t they have done both.

  3. “while the 11th, a forward, will be determined by the forward fans score the most goals with in this year’s EA Sports FIFA 17 until June 30”

    NOT a joke. They’re actually doing this.


Leave a Comment