Dwyer, Miazga, Roldan headline U.S. Gold Cup squad

Dwyer, Miazga, Roldan headline U.S. Gold Cup squad


Dwyer, Miazga, Roldan headline U.S. Gold Cup squad


U.S. Men’s National Team newcomers Dom Dwyer and Kenny Saief, as well as youngsters Matt Miazga, Kellyn Acosta and Cristian Roldan headline the U.S. Gold Cup squad, which was announced on Sunday.

U.S. coach Bruce Arena named his Gold Cup roster, and it features a mixture of younger players with some veterans. Dwyer, Cristian Roldan, Kelyn Rowe and Saief are the four uncapped players on a roster with 13 players who have fewer than 10 national team caps.

Matt Miazga, Paul Arriola and Kellyn Acosta are among the young selections made by Arena. All three were part of the 2015 U.S. Under-20 World Cup squad.

Some veterans have returned to the national team fold, including Eric Lichaj, Joe Corona and Bill Hamid. Gyasi Zardes is back in after missing the second half of 2016 with a broken foot.

Key USMNT regulars Christian Pulisic, Tim Howard, Michael Bradley, Jozy Altidore, Darlington Nagbe and Clint Dempsey were not included on the roster, but could still be called up for the knockout rounds. Up to six players from that squad can be called up after the group stage is over.

The USMNT kicks off the Gold Cup on July 8 against Panama in Nashville, Tennessee. The Americans will first play a friendly against Ghana on Saturday in East Hartford, Connecticut.

Here is the full U.S. Gold Cup squad:

GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest), Matt Miazga (Chelsea), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana, Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS: Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)

More from

More SBI