2019 MLS Draft: SBI Live Commentary

2019 MLS Draft: SBI Live Commentary

Major League Soccer

2019 MLS Draft: SBI Live Commentary


The latest crop of collegiate prospects will enter Major League Soccer on Friday afternoon in Chicago.

Expansion side FC Cincinnati contains the No. 1 selection in the 2019 MLS draft, which begins at 1 p.m. ET.

San Jose, Orlando, FC Dallas and Chicago are currently slated to select beneath FC Cincinnati in the top five, but as we’ve seen in past years, trades are likely to happen.

UCLA midfielder Frankie Amaya is the No. 1 player on the SBI Big Board, with Siad Haji, Callum Montgomery, Tajon Buchanan and Dayne St. Clair all expected to be selected in the early in the first round.

As the draft picks, and eventual trades, start to roll in, we’ll provide updates in the comments section as MLS welcomes its latest rookie class to the league.

2019 MLS Draft Selections

first round

1. FC Cincinnati: Frankie Amaya, M, UCLA

2. San Jose Earthquakes: Siad Haji, M, VCU

3. Orlando City: Santiago Patino, F, Florida International

4. FC Dallas (from Colorado): Callum Montgomery, D, Charlotte

5. Colorado Rapids (from Chicago): Andre Shinyashiki, F, Denver

6. Toronto FC: Griffin Dorsey, M, Indiana

7. Minnesota United: Dayne St. Clair, GK, Maryland

8. Houston Dynamo: Sam Junqua, D, California

9. New England Revolution: Tajon Buchanan, F, Syracuse

10. FC Dallas (from Montreal): John Nelson, D, North Carolina

11. New England Revolution (from Vancouver): DeJuan Jones, M, Michigan State

12. New York City FC (from LA Galaxy): Luis Barraza, GK, Marquette

13. FC Cincinnati: Logan Gdula, D, Wake Forest

14. D.C. United: Akeem Ward, D, Creighton

15. Minnesota United (from Chicago via Colorado and FC Dallas): Chase Gasper, D, Maryland

16. New York Red Bulls (from FC Cincinnati via LAFC): Roy Boateng, D, UC Davis

17. Real Salt Lake: Sam Brown, M, Harvard

18. Columbus Crew: J.J. Williams, F, Kentucky

19. LA Galaxy (from NYCFC): Emil Cuello, M, SMU

20. Seattle Sounders: Tucker Bone, M, Air Force

21. Sporting Kansas City: Kamar Marriott, D, Florida Gulf Coast

22. New York Red Bulls: Janos Loebe, M, Fordham

23. Portland Timbers: Ryan Sierakowski, F, Michigan State

24. Atlanta United: Anderson Asiedu, M, UCLA

second round

25. New York Red Bulls (from FC Cincinnati): Sean Nealis, D, Hofstra

26. San Jose Earthquakes: Sergio Rivas, M, Seattle University

27. Orlando City: Kamal Miller, D, Syracuse

28. Colorado Rapids: Marcello Borges, D, Michigan

29. FC Cincinnati (from Philadelphia): Tommy McCabe, D, Notre Dame

30. FC Cincinnati (from Toronto): Jimmy Hague, GK, Michigan State

31. Minnesota United: Hassani Dotson, M, Oregon State

32. New York Red Bulls (from Chicago): Rece Buckmaster, M, Indiana

33. Houston Dynamo (from New England): Andrew Samuels, D, Maryland

34. Montreal Impact: Amar Sejdic, M, Maryland

35. Vancouver Whitecaps: Brendan McDonough, D, Georgetown

36. LA Galaxy: Don Tchilao, M, Oregon State

37. FC Cincinnati (from Philadelphia): Ben Lundt, G, Akron

38. Orlando City (from D.C. United): Tommy Madden, M, Charlotte

39. Toronto FC (from Colorado): Adam Wilson, M, Louisville

40: LAFC: Peter-Lee Vassell, M, Harbour View FC

41. Real Salt Lake: Kyle Coffee, M, Washington

42. Colorado Rapids (from Columbus): Jacob Hauser-Ramsey, D, UCONN

43. NYCFC: Abdi Mohamed, D, Akron

44. Seattle Sounders: Joel Rydstrand, M, Creighton

45. Sporting Kansas City: Camden Riley, M, Pacific

46. San Jose Earthquakes (from New York Red Bulls): Mamadi Camara, M, Simon Fraser University

47. Portland Timbers: Lennart Hein, D, Saint Louis

48. Atlanta United: Amir Bashti, M, Stanford

More from

More SBI