Top Stories

Hany Mukhtar, Andre Blake, and Jesus Ferreira among finalists for MLS season awards


The 2022 MLS regular season is in the rearview mirror and the league announced its finalists for several end-of-season awards on Thursday.

Several top awards will be decided in the coming weeks including the league’s MVP award, Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, and Young Player of the Year. Current MLS players, club technical staffs (coaches, technical directors, and General Managers), and a select group of media members will vote for the winners of 10 different awards.

The Landon Donovan MVP award is the highly-anticipated on the list with five players from playoff teams in the running. Nashville SC’s Hany Mukhtar, Philadelphia Union’s Andre Blake, Austin FC’s Sebasti├ín Driussi, L.A. Galaxy’s Chicharito, and LAFC’s Cristian Arango round out the five finalists for the league’s best player award.

Blake is also a finalist for the Goalkeeper of the Year award, being joined by New England Revolution’s Djordje Petrovic, and Inter Miami’s Drake Callender in that category. Blake led MLS with 15 clean sheets during the regular season while Petrovic posted seven and Callender totaled four.

The Newcomer of the Year award also features Petrovic, after the Serbian delivered a strong debut MLS campaign. Atlanta United midfielder Thiago Almada and Columbus Crew forward Cucho Hernandez joined Petrovic in the finalist list. Almada totaled six goals and 12 assists for Atlanta United while Hernandez contributed nine goals and three assists for the Crew.

Almada is also a finalist for the Young Player of the Year award, being joined by FC Dallas forward Jesus Ferreira and FC Cincinnati attacker Brenner. Ferreira and Brenner both excelled for their respective attacking units, totaling 18 goals and six assists apiece.

All three coach of the year finalists finished within the top two of their respective conferences. LAFC’s Steve Cherundolo led the Western Conference club to its second-ever Supporters’ Shield trophy, edging Jim Curtin’s Philadelphia Union. The Union set new franchise records for most goals scored, fewest goals conceded, and largest goal differential. CF Montreal finished second in the East, led by Nancy’s impressive campaign on the sidelines.

Here’s a closer look at the finalists for all ten awards:


  • Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
  • Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC)
  • Sebastian Driussi (Austin FC)
  • Chicharito (LA Galaxy)
  • Cristian Arango (LAFC)

Goalkeeper of the Year

  • Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
  • Drake Callender (Inter Miami)
  • Djordje Petrovic (New England Revolution)

Defender of the Year

  • Jakob Glesnes (Philadelphia Union)
  • Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union)
  • Alexander Callens (New York City FC)

Newcomer of the Year

  • Djordje Petrovic (New England Revolution)
  • Thiago Almada (Atlanta United)
  • Cucho Hernandez (Columbus Crew)

Young Player of the Year

  • Jesus Ferreira (FC Dallas)
  • Brenner (FC Cincinnati)
  • Thiago Almada (Atlanta United)

Comeback Player of the Year

  • Kei Kamara (CF Montreal)
  • Jeremy Ebobisse (San Jose Earthquakes)
  • Gonzalo Higuain (Inter Miami)

Humanitarian of the Year

  • Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union)
  • Brad Stuver (Austin FC)
  • Kei Kamara (CF Montreal)

Coach of the Year

  • Jim Curtin (Philadelphia Union)
  • Steve Cherundolo (LAFC)
  • Wilfried Nancy (CF Montreal)

Referee of the Year

  • Allen Chapman
  • Ismail Elfath
  • Armando Villarreal

Assistant Referee of the Year

  • Ian Anderson
  • Chris Elliott
  • Corey Rockwell



Leave a Comment