TFC wheels and deals, Revs make Farrell first pick in MLS Draft

TFC wheels and deals, Revs make Farrell first pick in MLS Draft

MLS Draft 2013

TFC wheels and deals, Revs make Farrell first pick in MLS Draft


Toronto FC lead the way at the 2013 MLS SuperDraft after trading the number one overall selection, then taking Canadian duo Kyle Bekker and Emery Welshman among other selections.

TFC traded the top pick to the New England Revolution, who used it on consensus number one prospect, defender Andrew Farrell of Louisville.

Rounding out the top three, Chivas USA selected UConn attacking midfielder Carlos Alvarez before Toronto selected the midfielder Kyle Bekker.

Throughout the entire afternoon, TFC President and GM Kevin Payne clearly set a priority on stockpiling extra selections and allocation money by trading down.  The fourth overall selection TFC received from the Revs was turned around and swapped with the Vancouver Whitecaps for the 10th overall pick, which was then spun to the Seattle Sounders.  Toronto finally picked again at 16 where they selected Bekker’s teammate at Sigma FC Youth Academy, forward Emery Welshman.

Generations adidas forward Jason Johnson, who went into the Combine as the projected top forward slipped down the draft board to the Houston Dynamo at number 13.

US U-20 defender Walker Zimmerman went number seven to FC Dallas, while Indiana forward/defender and Hermann Trophy finalist Eriq Zavaleta went to Seattle with the 10th overall selection.  Sigi Schmidt says he will wait to decide which role Zavaleta will fill for the Sounders but that he currently likes him better as a defender.


1. New England Revolution – Andrew Farrell, DEF – Louisville

2. Chivas USA – Carlos Alvarez, MID – UConn

3. Toronto FC – Kyle Bekker, MID – Boston College

4. Vancouver Whitecaps – Kekuta Menneh, FWD – Austin Aztex

5. Vancouver Whitecaps – Erik Hurtado, FWD – Santa Clara

6. Colorado Rapids – Deshorn Brown, FWD – Central Florida

7. FC Dallas – Walker Zimmerman, DEF – Furman

8. Montreal Impact – Blake Smith, MID – New Mexico

9. Columbus Crew – Ryan Finley, FWD – Notre Dame

10. Seattle Sounders – Eriq Zavaleta, FWD/DEF – Indiana

11. Colorado Rapids – Dillon Powers, MID – Notre Dame

12. Real Salt Lake – John Stertzer, MID – Maryland

13. Houston Dynamo – Jason Johnson, FWD – VCU

14. Sporting Kansas City – Mikey Lopez, MID – North Carolina

15. San Jose Earthquakes – Tommy Muller, DEF – Georgetown

16. Toronto FC – Emery Welshman, FWD – Oregon State

17. DC United – Taylor Kemp, DEF – Maryland

18. Montreal Impact – Fernando Monge, MID – UCLA

19. LA Galaxy – Charlie Rugg, FWD – Boston College


20. FC Dallas – Ryan Hollingshead, MID – UCLA

21. New England Revolution – Donnie Smith, FWD – UNC Charlotte

22. New York Red Bulls – Ian Christianson, MID – Georgetown

23. New England Revolution – Luke Spencer, FWD – Xavier

24. LA Galaxy – Kofi Opare, DEF – Michigan

25. Colorado Rapids – Kory Kindle, DEF – Cal State Bakersfield

26. Philadelphia Union – Don Anding, FWD – Northeastern

27. Montreal Impact – Paulo DelPiccolo, MID – Louisville

28. Columbus Crew – Drew Beckie, DEF – Denver

29. Real Salt Lake – Devon Sandoval, FWD – New Mexico

30. Chicago Fire – Yazid Atouba Emane, FWD – Rainbow FC (Cameroon)

31. Philadelphia Union – Stephen Okai, MID – Mobile

32. Montreal Impact – Brad Stuver, GK – Cleveland State

33. San Jose Earthquakes – Dan Delgado, MID – San Diego

34. Portland Timbers – Dylan Tucker-Gangnes, DEF – Washington

35. Seattle Sounders – Dylan Remick, DEF – Brown

36. New England Revolution – Luis Soffner, GK – Indiana

37. Houston Dynamo – Jimmy Nealis, DEF – Georgetown

38. LA Galaxy – Greg Cochrane, DEF – Louisville


What do you think of the selections? Which ones impressed you the most? Which left you scratching your head?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI