Cooper, Convey, Alston among players to opt-out of MLS Re-Entry Draft

Cooper, Convey, Alston among players to opt-out of MLS Re-Entry Draft

Major League Soccer

Cooper, Convey, Alston among players to opt-out of MLS Re-Entry Draft


KennyCooperFCDallas1-HoustonDynamo (USATodaySports)


The number of players available in the first stage of the MLS Re-Entry Draft has dropped by 11 from the original 68 players announced Monday.

The draft will be held Thursday at 3 p.m., via teleconference.

Of the 11 players to opt-out of the Re-Entry Draft, Kenny Cooper, Bobby Convey, and Kevin Alston are the most noteworthy. Opting out means that they’re likely in trade discussions or have been traded. Mauro Rosales, traded on Wednesday to Chivas USA, is now ineligible for the Re-Entry Draft as well. Former FC Dallas midfielder David Ferreira, LA Galaxy defender Sean Franklin, and New York Red Bulls defender Heath Pearce remain eligible.

In addition to those above, Brad Knighton (traded to New England), Daniel Paladini, Andre Akpan, Yordany Alvarez, and Mike Chabala have all removed themselves from Re-Entry draft eligibility.

Teams who select players in the first stage of the draft must pick up the player’s option or agree a new contract at the player’s current salary figures. As such, not much action is expected Thursday. In 2012, only Maicon Santos was selected by the Chicago Fire.

Here’s the updated list of players available today’s MLS Re-Entry Draft:


Chicago Fire (8): MF Corben Bone, DF Shaun Francis, MF Joel Lindpere, MF Logan Pause, MF Chris Rolfe, FW Maicon Santos, MF Wells Thompson (out of contract), MF Michael Videira

Chivas USA (3): DF Ante Jazic (out of contract), DF Steve Purdy, MF Josue Soto

Columbus Crew (2): MF Danny O’Rourke, MF Konrad Warzycha

Colorado Rapids (3): GK Steward Ceus, DF Brian Mullan, MF Jamie Smith

D.C. United (6): MF Dwayne De Rosario, DF James Riley, FW Carlos Ruiz, MF Marcelo Saragosa, MF John Thorrington, DF Daniel Woolard

FC Dallas (2): MF David Ferreira, DF Ugo Ihemelu

Houston Dynamo (4): DF Bobby Boswell (out of contract), FW Calen Carr (out of contract), MF Alex Dixon, FW Cam Weaver

Los Angeles Galaxy (4): MF Colin Clark, MF Laurent Courtois, DF Sean Franklin, MF Pablo Mastroeni (out of contract)

Montreal Impact (1): MF Sinisa Ubiparipovic

New England Revolution (4): FW Chad Barrett, FW Ryan Guy, MF Clyde Simms, MF Juan Toja

New York Red Bulls (4): DF Brandon Barklage, FW Fabian Espindola, GK Kevin Hartman, DF Heath Pearce (out of contract)

Philadelphia Union (1): DF Chris Albright (out of contract/retired)

Portland Timbers (2): DF David Horst, DF Ryan Miller

Real Salt Lake (3): DF Brandon McDonald, GK Josh Saunders, MF Khari Stephenson

Seattle Sounders (3): DF Marc Burch, MF Blair Gavin, FW Steve Zakuani (out of contract)

San Jose Earthquakes (4): DF Nana Attakora, MF Mehdi Ballouchy (out of contract), DF Dan Gargan, GK Evan Newton

Toronto FC (2): FW Justin Braun (out of contract)

Vancouver Whitecaps (4): GK Joe Cannon, FW Corey Hertzog

(All players had contracts declined unless stated otherwise)


What do you think of this news? Where do you see Cooper, Convey, or Alston headed? Expect anyone to be selected today?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI