Ramos calls in 21 players for Dallas Cup

Ramos calls in 21 players for Dallas Cup


Ramos calls in 21 players for Dallas Cup


Tab Ramos

Photo by Michael Janosz/ISIphotos.com


The U.S. Under-20 Men’s National Team will compete in the Dallas Cup later this month and now we know which players will be available.

U.S. head coach Tab Ramos named a 21-player roster on Wednesday ahead of the tournament that runs from April 13-20 in Dallas, Texas. The squad includes New York Red Bulls centerback Matt Miazga, FC Dallas midfielder Kellyn Acosta and Philadelphia Union attacker Zach Pfeffer.

Sporting Kansas City defender Erik Palmer-Brown, Lynden Gooch of Sunderland and Rubio Rubin are other notable players summoned by Ramos for the 35th edition of the Dallas Cup.

The Americans are in Bracket C of the Gordon Jago Super Group and will play Under-19 teams from Germany’s Eintracht Frankfurt, Argentina’s River Plate and Mexico’s Tigres UANL.

The U.S. opens its campaign in the competition by facing River Plate on April 13. The Americans then play Eintracht Frankfurt less than 24 hours later before closing out Bracket C play with a match vs. Tigres on April 16.

Here is the full roster:

Goalkeepers (2) : Santiago Castano (NewYork Red Bulls; Union City, N.J.), Zack Steffen (Maryland; Downington, Pa.)

Defenders (9): Jordan Allen (Real Salt Lake; Rochester, N.Y.), Michael Amick (UCLA; Sunnyvale, Calif.), Sullaiman Dainkeh (Maryland; Reston, Va.), Trevor Haberkorn (Furman; Roanoke, Texas), Matthew Miazga (New York Red Bulls; Clifton, N.J.), Shaquell Moore (Unattached; Powder Springs, Ga.), Erik Palmer-Brown (Sporting KC; Lee’s Summit, Mo.), John Requejo Jr. (Real So Cal; Carpinteria, Calif.), Jesus Vazquez (UANL Tigres; San Luis Obispo, Calif.)

Midfielders (5): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas; Plano, Texas), Marco Delgado (Chivas USA; Glendora, Calif.), Luis Felipe (Cruzeiro; Ouro Branco, Brazil), Romain Gall (FC Lorient; Herndon, Va.), Lynden Gooch (Sunderland; Santa Cruz, Calif.)

Forwards (5): Benji Lopez (Real Salt Lake; San Diego, Calif.), Amando Moreno (Club Tijuana; Morganville, N.J.), Zach Pfeffer (Philadelphia Union; Dresher, Pa.), Rubio Rubin (Unattached; Beaverton, Ore.), Ben Spencer (Indy Eleven; Albuquerque, N.M.)


What do you think of this roster? Surprised by anyone’s inclusion/omission? How do you see the Americans faring in the competition?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI