Top Stories

Lloyd, Rapinoe, Solo among nominees for U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

Photo by Michael Chow/ USA TODAY Sports
Photo by Michael Chow/ USA TODAY Sports

Fresh off a World Cup-winning campaign, there is no shortage of eligible candidates for recognition as the U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year.

U.S. Soccer announced on Thursday that midfielders Lauren Holiday, Carli Lloyd, Megan Rapinoe, defender Becky Sauerbrunn, and goalkeeper Hope Solo are the five nominees to win the 2015 award. The winner of the accolade will be announced on Dec. 16 ahead of the Americans’ clash with China in New Orleans.

All five nominees played vital roles in this past summer’s Women’s World Cup, with Lloyd earning the tournament’s Golden Ball while Solo claimed the Golden Gloves award.

Three nominees have claimed the honor previously, including Holiday, who retired in October. The fellow past winners are Lloyd and Solo. Lloyd and Solo won the award in 2008 and 2009, respectively.

Who do you see as the favorite for the award? Is Lloyd all but guaranteed to win it, in your opinion? Any snubs from the nominee list?

Share your thoughts below.


Leave a Comment