Arena calls in 27-man squad for USMNT camp ahead of June qualifiers

Arena calls in 27-man squad for USMNT camp ahead of June qualifiers


Arena calls in 27-man squad for USMNT camp ahead of June qualifiers



Bruce Arena has called in a stacked 27-man squad for the U.S. Men’s National Team’s training camp ahead of the June World Cup qualifiers against Trinidad and Tobago, and Mexico.

Christian Pulisic, Clint Dempsey, Michael Bradley, Geoff Cameron and Jozy Altidore lead a group that will train at altitude in Colorado this week in preparation for the looming trip to Mexico City to face El Tri.

“I think we have a good group,” Arena said. “I’m still in the early goings with this team and I haven’t seen all of our players, so this camp gives me the opportunity to see six new faces we haven’t had in with the team yet, which is valuable. It’s also great that we’re able to bring back 21 players that have been in with our program already in 2017. We have a roster that has good balance all over, we have good young players and hopefully it’s a team we can put together to get us points in both games.”

Arena brought in an experienced group, with no national team newcomers included. Several of the players who missed the March qualifiers through injury are back in the fold, including Fabian Johnson, Cameron, Bobby Wood and John Brooks.

Here is the 27-man squad for the training camp in Commerce City, Colorado, which began on Sunday:

GOALKEEPERS: Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Ethan Horvath (Club Brugge), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS: DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Eintracht Frankfurt), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Tim Ream (Fulham), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna), DeAndre Yedlin (Newcastle United), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS: Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund)

FORWARDS: Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Bobby Wood (Hamburg SV)

More from

More SBI