Top Stories

Lavelle, Rapinoe, Morgan headline USWNT’s World Cup Qualifying provisional roster


The U.S. women’s national team is closing in on the start of the 2022 Concacaf Women’s Championship in Mexico this July and 59 players will be pushing to be in Vlatko Andonovski’s final roster.

Rose Lavelle, Megan Rapinoe, and Alex Morgan headline the provisional roster for this summer’s tournament. Young stars Trinity Rodman, Jaelin Howell, and Sophia Smith have also been included in the provisional roster.

Andonovski and his coaching staff will have to reduce their final roster to 23 players before the start of the group stage on July 4.

The Concacaf Women’s Championship will serve as qualification into the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and the 2024 Summer Olympics. This tournament will be the first competitive tournament for the USWNT since winning the Bronze Medal at the 2021 rescheduled Tokyo Olympics.

Lindsey Horan is the lone USWNT player on this roster who plays at club level in Europe. Horan’s teammate Catarina Macario was not included on the roster after suffering a torn ACL earlier this month with French club Lyon.

Five of the players included on this roster currently play at the collegiate level while veteran winger Tobin Heath is the only player without a club.

The USWNT will square off against Mexico, Haiti and Jamaica in its group at the World Cup Qualifying tournament. The Americans have won each of the last two editions of this tournament and overall has lifted the trophy eight times in their history.

Here is a closer look at the USWNT’s provisional 59-player roster:

U.S. women’s national team roster

GOALKEEPERS: Annabella Bixby, Aubrey Bledsoe, Jane Campbell, Adrianna Franch, Casey Murphy, Alyssa Naeher, Phallon Tullis-Joyce.

DEFENDERS: Alana Cook, Imani Dorsey, Caprice Dydasco, Emily Fox, Naomi Girma, Sam Hiatt, Sofia Huerta, Alex Loera, Emily Mason, Merritt Mathias, Kristen McNabb, Emily Menges, Kelley O’Hara, Carson Pickett, Becky Sauerbrunn, Emily Sonnett, Sam Staab,

MIDFIELDERS: Dani Weatherholt, Andy Sullivan, Jenna Nighswonger, Kristie Mewis, Savannah McCaskill, Emily Madril, Rose Lavelle, Taylor Kornieck, Jaelin Howell, Lindsey Horan, Kristen Hamilton, Vanessa Dibernardo, Mikayla Cluff, Savannh Demelo, Sam Coffey, Croix Bethune.

FORWARDS: Alex Morgan, Sydney Leroux, Bethany Balcer, Michelle Cooper, Ashley Hatch, Tobin Heath, Cece Kizer, Jessica McDonald, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, Margaret Purce, Megan Rapinoe, Trinity Rodman, Ashley Sanchez, Sophia Smith, Alyssa Thompson, Ally Watt, Morgan Weaver.

Leave a Comment