Top Stories

Mullins, Brian, named 2013 Hermann Trophy winners

PatrickMullinsMaryland1-VirginiaCollegeCup (USATodaySports)


For the first time since 1996, the Hermann Trophy has been awarded to a player for the second consecutive year.

The University of Maryland’s Patrick Mullins was awarded the 2013 Men’s Hermann Trophy on Friday evening at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis, becoming only the fifth male player ever to win multiple Hermann Trophies. The University of Virginia’s Morgan Brian was awarded the Women’s Hermann Trophy on Friday evening as well.

Mullins scored 19 goals and added eight assists for Maryland last season as he guided them to the College Cup for the second season in a row, though both years ended in disappointment. In 2012 the Terrapins fell to Georgetown in the semifinals and in 2013, Maryland were defeated by Notre Dame in the final.

The 21-year-old forward is expected to be a top pick at the upcoming Major League Soccer SuperDraft. Mullins beat out Notre Dame’s Harrison Shipp and UCLA’s Leo Stolz for this year’s honors.

Meanwhile, Brian set program history on Friday by becoming the first ever Virginia women’s player to win the award. The Cavaliers have won the award five times on the men’s side.

Last season, Brian scored 16 goals and had an ACC-best 14 assists as Virginia made a run to the NCAA Tournament semifinals, losing in penalty kicks to UCLA in heartbreaking fashion. The 20-year-old Brian also spent some time with the U.S. Women’s National Team, earning three caps in 2013 and scoring her first international goal in the USWNT’s 7-0 drubbing of Mexico last September.

Brian beat out 2012 Hermann Trophy winner Crystal Dunn of North Carolina and UCLA’s Abby Dahlkepmer for this year’s award.

Both Brian and Mullins were First Team ACC and All American selections this year.


What do you think of this news? Agree with the selections? Was there anyone else deserving of the award?

Share your thoughts below.


Leave a Comment