Messi, Neuer, Rodriguez headline 2014 World Cup awards

Messi, Neuer, Rodriguez headline 2014 World Cup awards

FIFA World Cup

Messi, Neuer, Rodriguez headline 2014 World Cup awards


MessiNeuerAwardsFIFAWorldCupFinal2014 (Getty)


Lionel Messi may not have won the ultimate prize on Sunday afternoon but he’s not going home without some silverware of his own.

Following Germany’s 1-0 victory in the World Cup final, the Argentine star was awarded the 2014 FIFA World Cup Golden Ball on the back of a four-goal, two-assist performance in the tournament. Messi finished ahead of the Netherlands’ Arjen Robben and Germany’s Thomas Müller, who took home the Silver Ball and Bronze Ball, respectively.

Germany’s Manuel Neuer, who didn’t record a save in the final, was awarded the Golden Glove, as he shot-stopped his way to World Cup glory.

With six goals and two assists, Colombia’s superstar midfielder James Rodriguez was awarded the tournament’s Golden Boot, finishing ahead of Müller (five goals, three assists), and Neymar (four goals, one assist).

Following in the footsteps of Müller, Lukas Podolski, and Landon Donovan, France’s powerful midfielder Paul Pogba was named the best young player of the World Cup. Pogba scored one goal, the winner against Nigeria and setting up a goal for teammate Karim Benzema in the 5-1 victory over Switzerland.

Finally, Colombia were awarded the FIFA Fair Play award, collecting just five yellow cards in their five matches played, and overall wowing crowds during their three weeks at the tournament.


What do you think of these winners? Do you agree with the decisions?

Share your thoughts below.

More from

More SBI