Top Stories

NWSL stars Wambach, Angerer, Boquete named to 2014 FIFA Ballon d’Or shortlist

AbbyWambachUSWNT1-Mexico2014 (USATODAYSports)

Photo by Russ Isabella/USA TODAY Sports


FIFA revealed their shortlist for the 2014 Women’s Ballon d’Or award on Friday afternoon, and the list contains a number of familiar faces as well as some noticeable absences.

U.S. Women’s National Team all-time leading goalscorer Abby Wambach headlines the shortlist despite a club year with the Western New York Flash that was plagued by some injury.

In addition to Wambach, the National Women’s Soccer League was represented by three other star players — German goalkeeper Nadine Angerer and Spanish midfielder Verónica Boquete for the Portland Thorns, as well as Japanese midfielder Nahomi Kawasumi from NWSL’s Seattle Reign.

Also included on the shortlist for the 12th consecutive year is Brazilian star midfielder Marta.

Notably absent is Alex Morgan, who was on the shortlist the last three years but struggled to overcome a lingering ankle injury over the past 12 months, and was ruled out last week for the rest of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying with another ankle knock.

Former USWNT head coach Pia Sundhage made the coach’s shortlist for the award, as did Seattle Reign head coach Laura Harvey.

The ten-player and ten-coach shortlists will be whittled down to a top three on Dec. 1 by a partnership between FIFA and French publication France Football. The men’s shortlist will be named on Oct. 28.

Here’s a look at the full player and coach’s shortlist for the FIFA women’s Ballon d’Or:


Nadine Angerer (Germany)

Veronica Boquete (Spain)

Nilla Fischer (Sweden)

Nahomi Kawasumi (Japan)

Nadine Kessler (Germany)

Marta (Brazil)

Aya Miyama (Japan)

Louisa Necib (France)

Lotta Schelin (Sweden)

Abby Wambach (USA)


Philippe Bergeroo (France/France national team)

Peter Dedevbo (Nigeria/Nigeria U-20 national team)

Laura Harvey (England/Seattle Reign FC)

Ralf Kellermann (Germany/VfL Wolfsburg)

Maren Meinert (Germany/Germany U-20 national team)

Norio Sasaki (Japan/Japan national team)

Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Sweden national team)

sako Takemoto Takakura (Japan/Japan U-17 national team)

Jorge Vilda (Spain/Spain U-17 national team and U-19 national team)

Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Switzerland national team)


What do you think of this new? Do you expect Wambach to make the final three? Think there were other players more deserving?

Share your thoughts below.


  1. I think Abby is there based on name recognition rather than current form. Not that shes bad but I think the US doesnt rely on her as much as in the past and she is getting fairly slow.


Leave a Comment